A password will be e-mailed to you.

In response to the extension of Ontario’s stay-at-home order until at least June 2, and after careful deliberation, the board of directors and leadership of the HPO have made the difficult decision to cancel the remaining online concerts of the 20-21 Season.

Ticket holders for online concerts have received detailed information via email regarding next steps. For more, visit our 20-21 Season Updates page.


Daniel Bartholomew-Poyser, Conductor
Nancy Nelson, English horn
Michael Fedyshyn, Trumpet

Mendelssohn: String Symphony No. 10 in B minor
Copland: Quiet City for solo trumpet, solo English horn and strings
Keiko Devaux: ebb
Haydn: Symphony No.71 in B-flat major

These expressive works transform from stormy and tumultuous to soft and tranquil. Mendelssohn’s String Symphony No. 10written at the age of 14, showcases the passion and sophistication of this young composer. HPO oboe and English horn player Nancy Nelson along with Principal Trumpet Michael Fedyshyn take centre stage as soloists in Copland’s serene Quiet City, with Nancy performing on English horn. Canadian Composer Keiko Devaux’s ebb provides a brooding atmosphere. This performance concludes with one of Haydn’s greatest orchestral works, his Symphony No. 71, which presents the tempestuous side of the great composer through a journey from dark to light-heartedness.