A password will be e-mailed to you.

April 19 at 7:30pm
FirstOntario Concert Hall (formerly Hamilton Place)

Buy Tickets

James Sommerville returns to Hamilton to conduct Dvorák’s famous New World Symphony in an evening featuring the works of celebrated Bohemian composers. Influenced by the music he found upon arrival in America, Dvorák’s Symphony No. 9 typifies how he could beautifully weave the melodies of African-American spirituals into one of the most popular symphonies of all time. The gypsy spirit is evident in Hungarian composer György Ligeti’s Concert Românesc, inspired by Romanian village music, and dynamic young artist Conrad Tao performs Bartók’s folk melody-filled Piano Concerto No. 3.

James Sommerville conductor
Condrad Tao piano
György Ligeti: Concert Românesc
Béla Bartók: Piano Concerto No. 3
Dvořák: Symphony No. 9 (From the New World)

Performance Support provided by:

Leave a Reply